Are you using Internet Explorer?
PIAA has found compatibility issues with Internet Explorer Version 11. This will impact Meeting Registrations, Store purchases, and other protected pages on the PIAA website.

Click here for easy-to-follow information to optimize your browser. It is a one-time fix!

Transitioning from Politics to Policy: How Post-election Washington Will Impact MPL Insurers

Wednesday, November 16, 2016
2:00-3:00 p.m. EST (1 p.m. CST, Noon MST, 11 a.m. PST)

The webinar is FREE and available to PIAA members only. Click here to access the webinar on demand.



Description

Now that the elections are over, it’s time to assess what the results mean for MPL/HPL insurers. Will President-elect Trump focus on healthcare issues other than repealing the Affordable Care Act when he takes office? Will the House and Senate be more or less favorable toward tort reform? What direction, overall, can we expect the federal government to take beginning in January 2017?

Join us on Wednesday, November 16 at 2:00 p.m. EST for a post-election discussion about what MPL insurers should expect from federal officials in a changed political environment.

In this webinar, we will analyze these policy issues and provide you with some answers about what to expect from the 115th Congress. Bipartisan political experts will examine the results of the 2016 elections and provide you with key insights to help you understand how the new political makeup of the nation's capital will guide the policy priorities emanating from Congress. In addition, PIAA staff will provide an analysis of what those policies will mean for MPL insurers in particular, and discuss some strategies for advancing and defending the members' policy goals in 2017.


Speakers:

The Hon. Dennis Cardoza, Partner, Former Member of Congress (D-CA), Director, Public Affairs, Foley & Lardner, LLP

Matt Keelen, Republican Lobbyist, Founder & President, The Keelen Group

Michael C. Stinson, JM, Vice President of Government Relations & Public Policy, PIAA