News Release


Dr. Richard Anderson to Receive 2020 MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland

(Rockville, MD, May 7, 2020) — The Medical Professional Liability (MPL) Association has announced Richard Anderson, MD, FACP, of The Doctors Company, will be the recipient of the 2020 Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland. Dr. Anderson is being honored for his singular contributions and longtime dedication to the MPL insurance community, the MPL Association, and healthcare professionals.The MPL Association is the leading international organization representing the medical professional liability insurance community.

Dr. Anderson is chairman and chief executive officer of The Doctors Company, the nation’s largest physician-owned medical malpractice insurer. He is also a director of The Doctors Company Foundation. A former clinical professor of medicine at the University of California, San Diego, Dr. Anderson is past chair of the Department of Medicine at Scripps Memorial Hospital, where he served as senior oncologist for 18 years.

Dr. Anderson is the editor of a book, Medical Malpractice: A Physician’s Sourcebook, and the author of a number of peer-reviewed publications on medical malpractice, the Harvard Medical Practice Study, and the impact of defensive medicine.

Formerly the chair of the board of the MPL Association, Dr. Anderson currently serves as vice-chair for the MPL Association Education & Research Foundation, on the Board of Overseers of the RAND Institute for Civil Justice, and as a faculty member for the Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI).

“Richard is a committed, tireless advocate for the MPL industry,” said Mary-Lou Misrahy, ARM, chair of the MPL Association, CEO of Alestri Insurance Company,and CEO Emeritus of Physicians Insurance A Mutual Company. “His perspective as a physician and his extensive knowledge of the practice of medicine are key to the consideration of critical issues in the MPL industry.”

Brian K. Atchinson, president and CEO of the MPL Association, stated, “We are very pleased to honor Dr. Anderson for his extraordinary commitment to the physician community, the MPL industry, and this Association. We are grateful for his remarkable dedication of time and energy over the years to support this organization and its members.”

The MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland, established in 1993 by MPL Association’s Board of Directors, was created in honor of the late Peter Sweetland, one of the MPL Association’schief architects and most fervent supporters. The award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service to the industry and to the MPL Association, and who epitomizes the high ideals and ethics for which Peter Sweetland stood.

Due to the cancellation of 2020 MPL Association Conference, the award will be presented to Dr. Anderson at a future date.


The MPL Association is the leading international association representing medical professional liability insurance companies, risk retention groups, captives, trusts, and other entities with a commitment to the quality delivery of healthcare. MPL Association members insure nearly 2 million healthcare professionals around the world—doctors, dentists, nurses and nurse practitioners, and other healthcare providers—including more than two-thirds of America’s private practicing physicians. MPL Association members also insure 2,500 hospitals and 9,000 medical facilities globally.

Susan Beach

Vice President of Marketing & Communications

301.947.9000, ext. 1212