Webinars

The Rapid Growth of APPs and Burgeoning Risk for MPL

Wednesday, March 6, 2024 11:00 a.m. ET (10 a.m. CT, 9:00 a.m. MT, 8:00 a.m. PT)

This webinar is FREE and open to MPL Association
members, affiliate partners, and invited guests.

Click here to register the webinar on-demand

 

 

Description

The number of advanced practice providers (APPs)—physician assistants, nurse practitioners, advanced practice registered nurses, and others—has risen dramatically. According to a study published in the BMJ, the proportion of healthcare visits delivered by APPs in the U.S. now accounts for a quarter of all patient encounters. Similar trends have been recognized internationally as well. This rapid shift requires medical professional liability (MPL) insurance industry stakeholders to understand and manage the risk associated with this growing segment of the healthcare workforce.

Join the MPL Association for an in-depth discussion on the proliferation of APPs and the impact of this trend on the future of MPL claims, defense, and loss mitigation. The webinar will begin with a brief overview of the key financials associated with the non-physician segment of the MPL market. Next, speakers from the frontlines of medical professional liability claims and defense will address a range of issues arising from this rapid and ongoing development in the delivery of healthcare, including:

  • How APPs are being utilized within inpatient and ambulatory settings, and how their roles will develop in the future
  • The evolving risks as more care is delivered by APPs across new and varying clinical conditions
  • The major trends and root causes of MPL claims involving APPs
  • How APP loss experience compares to that of physicians
  • How and why litigation defense strategies differ for APPs compared to physicians and approaches and tactics that can be used for optimal outcomes
  • And more!


Continuing Education
  
There is 1 continuing education hour available for participation in this live or on-demand CE activity.

Speakers

Michelle Dibadj, Esq.

Michelle Dibadj, Esq.

Sr. Director, Claims & Litigation
Ascension

Jonathan Einbinder, MD

Jonathan Einbinder, MD

Vice President Advanced Data Analytics and Coding
CRICO

Moderator

Bill Burns

Bill Burns, ACAS, MAAA

Vice President of Research and Analytics
MPL Association