News Release


The MPL Association Elects John H. Mize as Board Chair, Appoints Two New Directors

(Rockville, MD, May 31, 2022)— John H. Mize, FCAS, MAAA, President and CEO of SVMIC has been selected to serve as the chair of the Medical Professional Liability Association (MPL Association).

“This is a unique time for the MPL industry as the aftermath of the pandemic continues to unfold,” said Mize. “It’s an exciting time for the industry and the Association. I look forward to working with the board members and staff to implement the new strategic plan. In the coming months and years, we will be finding innovative ways to educate and connect our members while promoting and protecting the MPL industry.”

Mize is a Fellow of the Casualty Actuarial Society and a member of the American Academy of Actuaries. He is a graduate of Georgia Institute of Technology where he earned a Bachelor of Science degree in chemical engineering. Prior to joining SVMIC in 2013, Mize spent 23 years with the company that is now Willis Towers Watson where he had various roles including co‐leading the firm’s professional liability practice.

In addition to naming Mize its chair, the MPL Association—the leading international organization representing the MPL insurance community—elected two new board members to three-year terms.

Sherry Haworth, SPHR, SHRM-SCP, CPCU, has nearly two decades of experience in the healthcare liability industry. She joined PLICO in 2004 as the Vice President of Human Resources, went on to be named Senior Vice President of Operations in 2014, and became President of the company the following year. Today—following MedPro Group’s acquisition of PLICO—Haworth’s role has expanded to include the PLICO-Southwest Division of MedPro Group, making PLICO an integral part of the organization (including Princeton, MedPro RRG, PLICO, The Medical Protective Company, and other Berkshire Hathaway affiliates such as MLMIC).

Haworth holds a bachelor’s degree from Brigham Young University and an MBA from Oklahoma City University. She is certified through both HRCI and SHRM as a Senior Professional in Human Resources and has earned the CPCU designation.

Joseph G. Murphy currently serves as President and CEO of Coverys. Prior to assuming his current role at the company in April 2021, Murphy served as Coverys’ Chief Operating Officer from 2015. In that role, Murphy oversaw the underwriting, business development and distribution, risk management, business analytics, corporate communications, and claims departments as well as Coverys Insurance Services.

Murphy also served as Massachusetts’ Insurance Commissioner from 2009 to 2014 where he played an active role in implementing auto insurance reform, stabilizing health insurance costs, and ensuring the solvency of Massachusetts-domiciled insurers.

The MPL Association Board of Directors also appointed Christine M. Tomkins, MD, Strategic Adviser, The Medical Defence Union, to serve as vice chair, Sarah Scher, JD, RN, CEO of Cooperative of American Physicians, to serve as secretary, and J. Michael Conerly, MD, President and CEO of LAMMICO, to serve as treasurer.

“We are appreciative of these leaders offering their extensive expertise and knowledge to the MPL Association,” said MPL Association President and CEO Brian K. Atchinson. “We look forward to working with them as we continue to advance the mission of the organization and its members.”


The MPL Association is the leading international association representing medical professional liability insurance companies, risk retention groups, captives, trusts, and other entities with a commitment to the quality delivery of healthcare. MPL Association members insure nearly 2.5 million healthcare professionals around the world—doctors, dentists, oral surgeons, nurses and nurse practitioners, podiatrists, and other healthcare providers. MPL Association members also insure 2,700 hospitals and 15,000 medical facilities and group practices globally.

Susan Beach

Vice President of Marketing & Communications

301.947.9000, ext. 1212