News Release


Passolt Receives 2021 MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland

(Rockville, MD, May 5, 2021)—The Medical Professional Liability (MPL) Association has announced that William C. Passolt of OMS National Insurance Company (OMSNIC) will be the recipient of the 2021 Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland. Passolt is being honored for his outstanding contributions and longtime dedication to the MPL insurance community, the MPL Association, and healthcare professionals. The MPL Association is the leading international organization representing the medical professional liability insurance community.

Passolt is president and CEO of both OMSNIC and its subsidiary, Fortress Insurance Company. He joined OMSNIC in 1992 as its Vice President, Finance. Prior to joining the company, he was a senior manager with Arthur Andersen LLP. Passolt is a Certified Public Accountant and a member of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants. He has served as a director of the OMS Foundation since 2015 and as a director of the Eastman Dental Center Foundation since 2013. In 2019, Passolt was made an honorary fellow of the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons, the highest honor awarded to a nonmember.

Over the past 20 years, Passolt has served in various leadership roles at the MPL Association including Section Chair of the Technology, Human Resources, and Finance Workshop and Leadership Forum. He has participated in the MPL Conference Committee, CEO Section, and the Regional Member Roundtable. In 2011 and 2016, Passolt received the Leadership Award from the PIAA (now the MPL Association).

Brian K. Atchinson, president and CEO of the MPL Association, stated, “We are extremely pleased to honor Bill for his exceptional dedication to the MPL industry and this Association. His unwavering support and active commitment to the Association exemplifies the spirit of this award. We are grateful for his service.”

“Bill has shown a significant commitment to advancing the interests of policyholders at OMSNIC,” said Dr. James Q. Swift, chair of the MPL Association Board of Directors and director and chair of OMSNIC. “He has successfully led OMSNIC while preserving its mission of serving and protecting oral and maxillofacial surgeons and dental professionals enabling them to provide safe patient care.”

The MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland, established in 1993 by MPL Association’s Board of Directors, was created in honor of the late Peter Sweetland, one of the MPL Association’s chief architects and most fervent supporters. The award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service to the industry and to the MPL Association, and who epitomizes the high ideals and ethics for which Peter Sweetland stood.


The MPL Association is the leading international association representing medical professional liability insurance companies, risk retention groups, captives, trusts, and other entities with a commitment to the quality delivery of healthcare. MPL Association members insure nearly 2 million healthcare professionals around the world—doctors, dentists, nurses and nurse practitioners, and other healthcare providers—including more than two-thirds of America’s private practicing physicians. MPL Association members also insure 2,500 hospitals and 9,000 medical facilities globally.

Susan Beach

Vice President of Marketing & Communications

301.947.9000, ext. 1212